h1

American Idol 8 – Top 9 – Studio Recordings [download]

April 3, 2009

I really want to apologize for the slow upload. There were some internet speed and connection problems that were simply killing me. Sorry I couldn’t get them up sooner, but I hope you guys understand!

top 9

– American Idol 8 – Top 9 Studio Recordings –
Top Downloads Week

Track List:

  1. Anoop Desai – “Caught Up”
  2. Megan Joy – “Turn Your Lights Down Low”
  3. Danny Gokey – “What Hurts The Most”
  4. Allison Iraheta – “Don’t Speak”
  5. Scott MacIntyre – “Just The Way You Are”
  6. Matt Giraud – “You Found Me”
  7. Lil Rounds – “I Surrender”
  8. Adam Lambert – “Play That Funky Music”
  9. Kris Allen – “Ain’t No Sunshine”

Unlike other weeks, I have positive stuff to say about everyone’s tracks. Anoop, Allison and Danny’s are, in Paula’s words, relevant. Adam is in his own universe. Megan and Scott’s are soothing. Lil sound so much better in the studio. However, the standouts are Matt’s and Kris’. When these two hit the studio, magic happens. Their studio versions are always top notch and quite commercial, the kind you can expect spinning on your radio. Overall, these are great tracks to listen to.

A tribute to the amazing quirkiness and weirdness of Megan Joy Corkrey. CAW!

Enjoy! Please leave comments!

ETA: I want to apologize once again for the wrong cover art! I totally didn’t notice that it was the wrong group picture whilst in a hurry to get everything uploaded. Thanks guys for noticing and telling! You guys are the best! Sorry Megan! I have absolutely nothing against her though. Hehe! Hope you guys love this one.

27 comments

  1. First, thanks once again for the studio versions. I’ve always dismissed Megan out of hand after her appearance on the show, thinking she was horrible, but after reading your comments, I decided to listen to her studio version this week. You are right. She is much better on those. But that means that her voice needs to be autotuned to be commercial successful. Also, as beautiful as she is, she looks so awkward performing, she’s actually much more anjoyable as just audio, instead of the accompanying video. Because her voice has a unique and recognizable tone, if she gets the right management and tracks, she could actually be quite successful as a recording artist, especially if she learns toward jazz. Thanks for making me look at her in a different light. 🙂


  2. OK, once more without all the typos:

    First, thanks once again for the studio versions. I’ve always dismissed Megan out of hand after her appearances on the show, thinking she was beautiful but horrible. After reading your comments, I decided to listen to her studio version this week. You are right. She is much better after her voice has been autotuned. Though she is gorgeous, for me, she looks so awkward performing, that I find her much more enjoyable as just audio. Of course, fixing this flaw on video is fairly easy. But unless you really love her as is, and apparently America doesn’t, she’ll have problems touring, where her voice and appearance can’t be digitally altered (well she could lip-synch). Having said that, because her voice has a unique and recognizable tone, if she gets the right management she could actually be quite commercially successful as a recording artist, especially if she leans toward jazz. Look what great management did for Kellie Pickler. Whoever thought she would be the breakout star — and far more successful than Katharine McPhee or Taylor Hicks — from Season 5? If I were Megan Joy, I’d make a beeline for Pickler’s management. Thanks for making me look at Megan in a different light.


    • Firstly, I agree with everything you said. I hope she makes it far, go on the Duffy/Adele/Amy Winehouse route. Second, yup she needs a great management. Lastly, youre welcome. 🙂 Thanks to you too!


  3. lol happen to have artwork with megan present? or are we pretending she didn’t exist this week?


    • Haha, my bad. There its up. Thanks for notifying!


  4. link to top 9 photo: http://blogs.pioneerlocal.com/entertainment/americanidol9.jpg


  5. Hi,

    Thanks so much for uploading the studio recordings every week! Love listening to it, most of the songs sound much better in this version than live.

    My top 4 is: Adam Lambert, Allison, Kris Allen, and Matt Giraud. =)


  6. i really love your post all the time…


  7. Hey, thanks for uploading the studio versions every week. 🙂
    I agree, Megan does sound a lot better in the studio versions rather than live. I actually really hope she becomes a successful recording artist. 😀

    A lot of these studio versions are so much better than the previous ones! Esp. Matt’s, Kris’, Adam’s. Big fan of those three.


  8. Hey, thanks for uploading the studio versions every week! 🙂

    I agree with you on Megan– she does sound a lot better on the studio versions rather than live. I actually really hope she’ll become a successful recording artist.

    These week’s studio versions are really good compared to the previous weeks! Esp. Matt’s, Kris’ and Adam’s. I’m a real big fan of those three. 😀


  9. THANKS!


  10. is this really the top 9 pic? they’re only people.. where’s megan? i think this is the top 8 picture.. but anyway thanks for uploading the songs.. i personally like all of megan joy’s studio recording especially walkin’ after midnight!:)


    • Oops! Thanks for noticing! Fixed it. Sorry for that! Walkin After Midnight is my fav too.


      • yay! you fixed it already! many many thanks dude!


  11. Yup! please fix, Megan should still be there 😦 😉

    Thanks man, as usual, you rawk!!


    • Fixed. Good eyes!! 😀 Thanks for telling!


  12. I am really looking forward to your every post especially with regards to the studio downloads. 😀 you rock. 😀 Thanks so much!


  13. at first i thought adam’s recording would rock but it’s too noisy for me. too much screaming going on.

    allison sounded like no doubt so it didn’t offer somethign new for me.


  14. Hi!
    Thanks so much for uploading these (:
    By the way, somehow, I can’t download Anoop’s recording. It says that It was moved or something.
    Once again, thank you!


    • Hmmm, it works fine for me. Try refreshing the page again or wait for a few minutes, then try again.


      • It works now. Thanks! Hehe..


  15. Thanks for sharing!


  16. All the tracks for the top 9 were refreshingly good. I was surprised to actually like Megan’s studio cut. It is a shame she couldn’t bridge her studio ability into the performance realm. Still being an Adam fan I liked his track the best but the other stand outs for me were Matt and Scott. Even Lil sounded real good on the studio cut.

    Thanks again for letting us have a listen to these.


  17. thx 4 changing d pic..


  18. Thanks!

    I really love Megan, so I was disappointed to see her go. But, oh well, America has “decided”. I hope that she becomes successful and have her own album. 8D


  19. Thanks again 😀

    Off topic : Come Back To Me’s video is so damn awesome!!


    • YES IT IS. ♥



Leave a Reply

