h1

American Idol 7 – Top 2: Boxing Idol [recap]

May 21, 2008

It’s Boxing Idol! On the red side, David Cook! Ready to punch out his contender. On the blue side, David Archuleta! Looking rather small and ridiculous in that big boxing suit of his.

This year’s Idol had a boxing theme. Uhhh… Boxing? Seriously. I’d like to see Simon giving Ryan that punch he always wanted to give him. Hehe!

Idol is completely shoving Ruben Studdard, Fantasia and especially Taylor Hicks away when it comes to showing the winners of American Idol. Somehow Chris Daughtry ended up in there. Uhh, since when did he win? Oh well, not complaining.

Clive Davis (oh-uh) and Andrew Lloyd Webber were back to mentor the top 2 for their final preparations. First song was Davis’ choice.

Ding ding ding! Round 1!

Cook started the night, singing “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For“. Cook looked great and sounded great, ending his song with his signature note. Judges loved it, Simon called it phenomenal.

Archuleta fought back with his take on “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me“. It was a masterclass. Wow wow wow. This song is incredibly difficult to perform, but Archie pulled it off. I just wished he got a better wardrobe, he wore that shirt before!

Round 1 winner: Blue side!

Rrrrrrrrround 2!

Round 2 was the songwriter contest’s winning songs. Cook chose a very rocking “Dream Big“. Frankly, I dislike that he chose that song, I have to agree with Simon, it didn’t sound like a winner’s song at all. I can’t imagine a person winning while singing a song like that. But the song suited Cook’s style.

Archuleta went with “In This Moment“, which sounded somewhat like Shania Twain’s “From This Moment“. It was an incredibly cheesy song to start with, but it felt more like a winner’s song. It suited him well too. Seriously, who dresses the kid?

Round 2 winner: I think both of them tie for giving average performances.

Pull it together! It’s Round 3!

The best was definitely last for Cook, who sang “The World I Know“. Cook showed a completely different side of him with this song, a much more mellow and sensitive and acoustic side of him. It was very nicely done, I loved it! I guess it meant a lot to Cook, who burst into tears after performing. Awwwww! Who wasn’t teary eyed after that? Don’t you feel like hugging the big guy? Simon didn’t like it a lot, he rather that Cook went with “Billie Jean” or “Always Be My Baby” and not singing a new song, but called Cook one of the most sincere person to ever graced the American Idol stage.

Archuleta ended the show with an encore of his top 20’s performance, “Imagine“. It was rather like a deja vu, except better. Judges loved it, and Simon said it was a knockdown for Archuleta. That’s very high praise. I just hoped that he’d really cry for those extra votes. *wink wink*

Round 3 winner: Cook for not doing an encore, displaying another side of him, and showing emotion! Real men are not afraid to cry!

____

So I guess it’s tied between David and David for the final performances. Both did an amazing job and worked incredibly hard, they both deserve credit.

I guess it doesn’t matter who wins in the end, they both will have a great future laid ahead of them.

On a random note, the top 12 were spotted sitting together in the crowd! Top 24 finalist, Luke Menard was diagnosed with cancer. Pray for Luke!

I have a gut instinct that Idol will let Archuleta win, but I’m having my fingers crossed for Cook.

David Cook for American Idol.

What do you think? Leave comments!

[Pics from Yahoo! TV]

12 comments

  1. i love you and i think you are very fair in your comments and i especially love you for rooting COOK FOR THE WIN!! =D =D


  2. I think both Davids did a good job. But I guess Archuleta bagged it for the night. All his performances were stellar. I’m not being biased but based from his performances tonight I hope he wins it. There was one song of Cook’s which did not connect to me, I think it was his last song. I don’t know why, but nonetheless he proves that he’s right for the finale.

    Whoever wins deserves to be American Idol. Both have different genres and both excels on their own. Go Davids!!!!!!!


  3. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]


  4. yup. we should not been ‘biased’. Both are doing great but David A. swept all the praised from Simon Cowell. What a stunning & stellar performances…all rounds dude…:D

    The next Americon Idol is…

    DAVID ARCHULETA…

    🙂


  5. I just don’t think, or maybe more hope, that people will not base there voting on the final performances alone. So maybe Archuleta bagged it (I personally still preferred DC on every performance particularly Dream Big) but he’s not been doing knockout performances as often as DC has, he has performed amazingly almost every week. Although I do think David A has a phenomenal voice it still isn’t in the same league as David C’s. They both deserve it, but it’s DC for me!!


  6. are there studio recordings for this week? the songs they sang were awesome!


  7. Either way this year’s Idol will be amazing. I think Archuleta will win. But Cook is SO talented that he’ll do his own thing (and do better than Archuleta). I feel like Archie will be one of those names we forget and end up on Broadway. Years from now he’ll be on the Surreal Life.


  8. its obvious…David A is the IDOL 🙂


  9. I’m afraid David A. would win but David C. will pull a daughtry recording deal and David A will fare a lil better than taylor hicks.


  10. Cook won!!! Woot! I hope AI won’t restrict his style.


  11. Phileo – Nope there are no studio recordings for the finale. I’ll post the winner’s single when it surfaces!


  12. Can I ask though – how did you get this picked up and into google news?

    Very impressive that this blog is syndicated through Google and is it something that is just up to Google or you actively created?

    Obviously this is a popular blog with great data so well done on your seo success..

    Boxing greats you should write about next!



Leave a Reply

