Archive for April 23rd, 2008

h1

American Idol 7 – Top 6 [recap]

April 23, 2008

It’s Andrew Lloyd Webber week as the top 6 tackle Broadway songs. Oh uh. Red lights! red lights! At least for some of them anyway.

This week was full of drama and emotions – those with big voices shone brightly.

Syesha Mercado went, surprisingly first, again. Seriously, it’s sooo obvious that Idol producers want her to be booted. First to perform = death spot. It’s so unfair. Syesha sang “One Rock ‘n’ Roll Too Many“. She definitely rocked and rolled her performance. She looked glamorous. She was in her genre. She had mad vocals. She had the sexy moves. In one word, she was: AWESOME. I was blown away and was very happy that Syesha was finally outshining the others. Ricky Minor even joined in to dance. The judges were obviously impressed, especially Simon, who was turned on. Go Syesha! Her performance here.

The show peaking too soon is what I have to say, for Jason Castro took a tumble as he sang “Memory“. Honestly, Jason sounded like a fish out of the water this week. Broadway for Castro. That’s not good. Andrew Lloyd Webber and the judges sensed immediately that Jason had no clue to what he was singing. Paula bragged on how good (hint hint) he was and all I wanted to do was to shut her up. His performance here.

Next was Brooke White who looked absolutely stunning. She took on “You Must Love Me“. This was the low blow of the show – Brooke forgot her lyrics. She stopped, turned to the band and say “I’m sorry can we…” and she started her song once more. Oh my goodness. I fell so sorry for Brooke – poor girl! I’ll be devastated if I were her. After that she was holding back tears so that her voice was a little restrained to sing well. Nevertheless, I think Brooke grasped the concept of the song incredibly well – she was the only one showing sad emotions. Paula was frustrated at her for stopping in the middle of the song, while Simon and Randy showed some kindness and said they’d done the same if they were in Brooke’s shoes. Her performance here.

Things started to pick up as David Archuleta went next. He sang “Think Of Me” from Phanton Of The Opera. Pretty witty, consider that it’s a popular play. Webber advised David to open his eyes while singing. Hehe, now he have to overcome closing his eyes. I noticed that he stopped licking his lips, and he kept doing the hand-on-heart sign thing to show his acknowledgment to his fans, otherwise known as the “Arch Angels”. The judges liked it, I didn’t. I find it rather boring. But oh well, I’m not America am I now. Randy went on, again, about “If you can sing, you can sing anything”. I’d like to see him switch it up – from ballads to some uptempo songs. His performance here.

Pretty Carly Smithson went next, singing “Jesus Christ Superstar“. What a weird name for a song. Webber chose the song for her, and he hit the jackpot. Carly sang amazingly good. Ecstatic Carly went over to the band and took a blue shirt, which read “Simon Loves Me (This Week)”. Ummm okay. It’s like saying “Jesus Loves Me (This Week)”. Lol. I’d like to see her wear that. On the down side, the text is written is Comic Sans font, I DESPISE Comic Sans. Team Anti-Comic Sans! Her performance here.

As expected, David Cook went last. Can they be anymore obvious? Pimped pimped pimped pimped pimped! He’s always near last to perform. Oh well, I’m not complaining. This David sang another Phantom song, “Music Of The Night“. I guess he pretty much so nailed it, I loved how he ended the song. It definitely showed another side of David, he’s versatile, he’s popular, he can sing – who’s complaining? His performance here.

__________

What’s up with the 2 Davids? Both singing songs from “Phantom”, both wearing similar outfits, both getting the same response from Randy. Hehe! They are absolutely positively safe with their massive fanbase. Refer: David A’s little girly underage fans who wanted to hug and crush him.

Hopefully Syesha’s stellar performance could safe her from appearing in the bottom 3. And if Idol is so desperate to get rid of her, fine, the show is rigged.

Brooke is definitely appearing in the bottom 3 for another week, and I can sense a whole lot of emotion and drama that is going to happen. Jason can’t escape with his mediocre performance either. Carly may be safe, may be in the bottom 3, but she’s not going home for sure.

My bottom 3 predictions: Jason, Brooke, Syesha/Carly.

My elimination prediction: Jason

I think Jason will get the boot – it’s a male’s turn to go. Besides I’m desperate to save Brooke.

GO D’COOK, SYESHA & BROOKE!

What do you think? Leave comments!

[Pics from Yahoo! TV]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.